Located on the left-hand side of Mevagissey's fabulous inner fishing harbour the Mevagissey Museum is listed as the area's top attraction on Trip Advisor and is free for all. The Museum houses a number of collections of local interest and is its self housed in a old building dating back to 1745 when it was used for the construction and repair of smuggling vessels.
The Museum fills three floors with exhibits, large and small. The Ground Floor is suitable for wheelchairs, and there is a stair lift between the ground and first floors The Museum is completely indoors so perfect for a rainy day. For the younger visitors there is a teddy bear and pirate hunt to keep them amused.
Andrew Pears was born in Mevagissey around 1768 and apprenticed as a hairdresser in Fowey. He went to London to seek his fortune and began to experiment with making rouges, creams and soaps. He invented Pears Soap which soon became a household name.
Admission & prices
Easter to October
11am - 4pm
July and August
11am - 5pm
From St Austell, take the B3273 to Mevagissey, a distance of approximately 6 miles. The Museum is in the Inner Harbour, at the end of the East Wharf.
There are a number of car parks in Mevagissey all within easy walking distance.
The ground floor is suitable for wheelchairs
There is a stair lift between the ground and first floors
Some recent comments from visitors on Trip Advisor include:
€śTreasure trove of a museum€ť
€śCluttered and quirky, and all the better for it!"
" Fascinating museum with lots of character€ť
Checkout the reviews on Trip Advisor for yourself.
T: 01726 843568
, CORNWALL PL26 6QR